top of page

Lasagna for them, spaghetti squash for me.

Six feet on the ground and another two feet coming tonight. It's a perfect time to cook up a storm and there's nothing my family wants other than lasagna. The kind with Barilla noodles and LOTS of cheese. And although I would love to see them enjoy one made out of spaghetti squash, it just ain’t happening.

If the main course isn't Paleo, then I will paleotize whatever it is they are having. It really helps to keep things simple. I'll make a spaghetti squash casserole out of some of the ingredients I use to make dinner with for the rest of the family.

The lasagna that they are having tonight has roasted red peppers, sautéed zucchini, onion and summer squash. And because the pork in the lasagna has sugar and is not Whole30 compliant, I set aside just enough ground beef for myself before adding it to the pan with the pork. It is a little extra work but it's really not too bad, and if you cook big like me, you'll have leftovers and leftovers are my best friend! I cook up the ground beef in a small, separate pan from theirs and set it aside. I also took some sautéed veggies and set those aside for myself as well. My spaghetti squash is roasting in the oven along with the lasagna. Once the squash it tender I can pull it out and shred it into a bowl with the beef and veggies. Add a can of fire roasted tomatoes and a couple eggs to hold it all together. Bake it for about 25 minutes at 450, dinner is served and everyone is happy!

These little personal sized casserole dishes are perfect for this meal. I made 4 of them, so now I've got plenty left over to use for meals this week. Maybe I'll try freezing one and see how that works out.

I love how spaghetti squash can be so versatile when it comes to casseroles. I don't see myself getting bored anytime soon!


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page