top of page

Preparing separate meals from the family doesn't have to be difficult.

It's been so crazy here with all the snow! The kids missed a few school days last week because of it and this week they are on school vacation. That makes me super busy! I love to make big meals that will make plenty of leftover for times like these. Less time in the kitchen equals more time to play with the kids.

Last night’s dinner was chicken broccoli and ziti for the family. And because I don't do gluten, I had to come up with something for myself. To keep it simple and not have 2 totally separate meals going on, when the chicken and broccoli was cooked, I put some aside for myself. While the rest of their meal is being prepared, I got some baby potatoes roasting in the oven for myself. I love them because they cook so quickly, and they go with just about anything.

I wanted something similar to what they were having, so for my 'alfredo sauce' I took the solid part of my canned coconut milk, added a minced clove of garlic, tablespoon of parsley, lemon juice and salt. Blended with my immersion blender and heated until the mixture was warm. I would love to add some parmesan cheese to it, but I'm in the middle of a Whole30 and cheese is off limits for now. I served the chicken and broccoli over the roasted babies and poured the sauce on top. This took about the same amount of time it did for their meal to cook.

Doesn't this look delicious!?


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page